Space Planning Advisory Committee (SPACe)

The Space Planning Advisory Committee (SPACe) is responsible for considering the immediate and long-range space needs of the university, proposing solutions to address needs, and evaluating space requests submitted to the Office of Space Management.  SPACe evaluates all space requests (new, augmented, and/or change of use) and generates related space allocation recommendations in the context of the university’s educational mission and articulated institutional plans.  For space proposals of 1,000 square feet or greater, SPACe forwards its recommendations  to the Space Steering Committee (SSC) for review and, finally, to the Chancellor for endorsement.  Additionally, the SPACe serves in an advisory capacity to the university in assessing and guiding the execution of all facets of campus space management processes.  Committed to a regular exchange of information and public suggestions, the SPACe will post its meeting schedule and meeting minutes.  The SPACe will be administratively supported by the university’s Facilities Management and Institutional Research units.

SPACe ex officio membership is established as follows:

  • Director of Space Management (Chair) - Peter Franz, Interim Director
  • Associate Vice Chancellor for Business Services - Rich Steele
  • Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Union, Activities & Recreation - Sujit Chemburkar
  • Associate Vice Chancellor for Facilities Management (or designee) - Jon Varnell
  • Interim Associate Vice Chancellor and Director of Housing and Residence Life - Dr. Casey Tullos
  • Senior Associate Provost (or designee) - Dr. Jay Raja
  • Senior Director of University Advancement Operations - Tammie Boyd
  • Deputy Athletic Director - Darin Spease
  • Assistant Director of Corporate Partnerships, Charlotte Research Institute, Interim - Clay Andrews
  • At-large delegate appointed by Chancellor - Dr. Lee Gray
  • Assistant Provost for Institutional Research (non-voting) - Steve Coppola
  • Director of Planning, Design and Construction (non-voting) - Kathryn Horne
  • Real Estate Manager (non-voting) - Richard LaLiberté

Meeting Schedule and Minutes

SPACe Meeting Guest Attendance and Public Comment Guidelines